Current Program

Finding your Feet

Sunday 16 September, 2018

finding your feet

 

Leave No Trace

Sunday 30 September 2018

Leave No Trace

 

The Children Act

Sunday 21 October 2018

children act

 

Maria by Callas

Sunday 18 November 2018

maria by callas

 

Colette

Sunday 13 January 2019

pic5

Only days left until the
2019 Winter Film Festival

January 25, 26 and 27, 2019

Mark your Calendars - although we have yet to announce the full Program for Fall and the Winter Festival, we have reserved the following dates for the Spring 2019 series

  • Sunday February 10
  • Sunday March 3
  • Sunday March 24
  • Sunday April 14
  • Sunday May 5

 

Mark your calendars - the dates for our next series have now been confirmed

  • Sunday September 16 - film information now available
  • Sunday September 30 - film information now available
  • Sunday October 21 - film information now available
  • Sunday November 18 - film information now available
  • Sunday January 13 - 2019 - film information to be announced

Also confirmed are the dates for our 2019 Festival

NFS Weekend Film Festival
Jan. 25, 26, 27 - 2019

 

poster rider
We are pleased to announce that Rider, winner of multiple International Awards, has been confirmed as our fifth film in the Spring 2018 series.  You can see full details of it in the program pages here.

It will screen on Sunday April 29 at 4:00pm at Rainbow Cinemas.

Single tickets will be available at the NFS Mall table or at the usual outlets after April 15.

 

At the Annual Winter Film Festival Reception on Saturday January 20, 2018, draws were made for six prizes including the VIA Rail grand Prize.

NFS 2018 Festival VIA winnerBelow is a list of winners.

  1. AGN – one year family membership – Ted Hunt
  2. Rainbow Cinema – 4 passes – Sarah Holland
  3. Vintage Film Festival – 2 weekend package $150 value  – Doug Irwin
  4. 2018 Vintage DocFest ReaRview, courtesy of Marie Dressler Foundation 2 Weekend Passes at The Loft – April 21, 22 – Retail Value $100 – Winner is Sandra Lane
  5. 2 passes to the 5 Thursday evening talks at Northumberand Learning Connection next series Rivers: Currents of Change - winner is Heather & Ray Barfoot
  6. $500 voucher to Via Rail – winner is Edward Hagedorn – photo at right.

PoetsThe movie shown on April 9th was Paterson which was about a bus driver who found meaning in his humdrum life through his poetry. Because poetry was featured in the movie, NFS decided to ask Cobourg’s Poet Laureate, Ted Amsden, to join us. He was introduced by James Pickersgill, member of the Cobourg Poetry Workshop who said that Cobourg was known across Canada as the home to a good number of poets and people who liked to hear poetry read.

At top-right is a photo of James and Ted.

Ted read out a poem by American poet Ron Padgett who wrote the poems featured in the movie.

Film Sundays has now booked the dates for the Fall 2017 series. Mark your calendar for the following:

  • Sunday September 17th
  • Sunday October 1st
  • Sunday October 22nd
  • Sunday November 12th
  • Sunday January 7th

All screening are at 4PM as usual. The program will be selected over the summer and tickets will be on sale from the usual outlets by around mid August.